Wednesday, April 16, 2014

WHL US Division well-represented in NHL playoffs... plus Seattle's "Golden Boy" TJ Oshie

Fans of WHL's US Division teams have a number of teams to cheer for in the first round of the NHL playoffs. But if you're not a diehard fan and want to know who to follow, I've done the legwork for you. Below are players from WHL US Division teams whose NHL teams are in the battle for Lord Stanley's Cup. 

In addition, one of the Seattle-area's homegrown stars, TJ Oshie, is shaking off an injury in an attempt to help lead the St. Louis Blues in the Cup chase.

Take a look at the list of players below. Let me know if I've left anyone out. And may your team win the Cup (if your team is the Pittsburgh Penguins, that is).

TJ Oshie - product of Seattle Junior Hockey Association

Brenden Dillon (2007-2011) - Dallas Stars (v. Anaheim Ducks)

Patrick Marleau (1995-1997) – San Jose Sharks (v. Los Angeles Kings)
Cory Sarich (1998) – Colorado Avalanche (v. Minnesota Wild)
 Nate Thompson (2001-2005) – Tampa Bay Lightning (v. Montreal Canadiens)

Radko Gudas  (2009-2010) – Tampa Bay Lightning (v. Montreal Canadiens)

Ryan Murray (2008-2013) – Columbus Blue Jackets (v. Pittsburgh Penguins)

Note: Former Silvertips Head Coach Craig Hartsburg is Columbus Blue Jackets’ Assistant Coach
Carey Price (2002-2007) – Montreal (v. Tampa Bay Lightning)

Clayton Stoner  (2002-2005) – Minnesota Wild (v. Colorado Avalanche)

Tyler Johnson (2007-2011) – Tampa Bay Lightning (v. Montreal Canadiens)

Darcy Kuemper (2007 - one game) –  Minnesota Wild (v. Colorado Avalanche)
Jared Spurgeon (2005-2010) – Minnesota Wild (v. Colorado Avalanche)
Ray Whitney (1988-1991) – Dallas Stars (v. Anaheim Ducks)
Note: Former Chiefs Head Coach Mike Babcock is Detroit Red Wings’ Head Coach
Note: Former Chiefs Assistant and Head Coach Bill Peters is Detroit Red Wings’ Assistant Coach
 Braydon Coburn (2000-2005) - Philadelphia Flyers (v. New York Rangers)

Brandon Dubinsky (2002-2006) – Columbus Blue Jackets (v. Pittsburgh Penguins)

Marian Hossa  (1997-1998) – Chicago Blackhawks (v. St. Louis Blues)

Ryan Johansen (2009-2011) – Columbus Blue Jackets (v. Pittsburgh Penguins )
Cody McLeod (2001-2005) – Colorado Avalanche (v. Minnesota Wild)
Brenden Morrow (1995-1999) – St. Louis Blues (v. Chicago Blackhawks)

Nino Niederreiter (2009-2011) – Minnesota Wild (v. Colorado Avalanche)

Luca Sbisa (2010) – Anaheim Ducks (v. Dallas Stars)

Colton Sceviour (2004-2008) – Dallas Stars (v. Anaheim Ducks)


No comments:

Post a Comment